Effervesce.

When life knocks you down, calmly get back up, smile, and say. "You hit like a bitch."

Daily life.

Leave a comment

My daily life has been so different from the transplant.  I’m not constantly thinking about what I’m allowed to eat and what I feel like eating but not allowed to eat. I don’t have to plan my meals anymore,  I just open the fridge or pantry and eat what I feel like. I do follow a healthy lifestyle,  because gaining weight is not an option for me, having one kidney excess weight becomes dangerous as the kidney will work harder than it should, so I do make sure I eat healthily.  But, nothing stops me from indulging every now and then.

I have such freedom from a restricted diet.  It has been so liberating.  The best however,  and will always be one of the best perks with having a working kidney.  We can go out without having to rush back home to prime my PD  machine so that I can dialyse at 6 in the evening.  The silence in our bedroom at night is just bliss, we used to imagine the silence at night,  and now we have that, so good.

Pete and I still just marvel at what happened,  we have permanent smiles on our faces.  And going to the loo still amazes me, I’m still smiling when go to the loo, I look really goofy, so I’m just so glad nobody sees me on the loo!!!

Energy, that’s a very important change to my day. I’m exercising daily, something I just didn’t have the energy for. I do Yoga and I just love it, at first I looked at the poses and thought “Hell no!” But I have just fallen in love with Yoga, it has been so good to get active again, that has ben wonderful.

I’m also sleeping better, I still go to bed late, like midnight,  habit I suppose, but when I sleep, nothing wakes me up, except off course my bladder, but that I really don’t mind!  Goofy smile at 3 in the morning is optional though!  I’m seeing my Dr on the 28th of August, I did have an appointment next week Wednesday,  but I had to move it because we want to go on holiday.

So all in all my daily life has changed dramatically.  And I just LOVE it! Every minute of it.

“Keep your eyes open to your mercies. The man who forgets to be thankful has fallen asleep in life.” Robert Louis Stevenson

Share your thoughts

