Effervesce.

When life knocks you down, calmly get back up, smile, and say. "You hit like a bitch."

There is more to life.

Leave a comment

There is more to life than just dialysis. I try as far as I can to not allow my current state of health to overwhelm me or take over my life.  I can’t be all about dialysis and renal failure all the time. Yes, we have to be informative and educate, but life is about more than just that. Disease has a sneaky habit of defining one’s life, and I have to constantly battle against that, I cannot and will not allow it to define me whatsoever. We have really tried to create a normal environment for the boys. We don’t want renal failure to be the focus in our home.

Pete and I were discussing how the boys have coped with everything that’s happened to us the past 2 years, and we are so proud of our boys. They are coping really well. They are such amazing boys, and I believe they are even stronger for it. They cope very well when things don’t go according to plan. Unless it’s internet related, then we have total meltdowns! It’s really funny actually. Priorities, I tell ya!

It’s not the easiest way to go on holiday. But we did it. Very succesfully too! The next thing we need to try is flying with the machine. That ought to be an experience and a half! Not really looking forward to that. Will avoid that for a while.

For now we are just carrying on regardless, dare I say not rewardless. So all in all it’s not too bad. The only major downside is that we don’t go out at night too often. Because I dialyse for 12 hours, I start at 6 in the evening. But when we do need to go out for a function, I just skip that dialysis for that day, or night  actually and just carry on he next evening. I don’t do it often, but I do if I have to.

Would love to stop dialysing all together, but that won’t be such a good idea. I have met people who are all about their disease and therapy. Life revolves around that, all the time. I don’t understand that. Surely there is more to life than what is happening to you right now? I really struggle to relate to people who can only talk dialysis or renal failure. Although this is a major part of my life, I cannot just be that. I actually don’t talk about it to people anymore. It’s boring and I’m wholly disinterrested in all things pertaining to dialysis. I find my friends and I discuss other things, we really don’t talk about this anymore. We have said all there is to say about it and have moved on.

There are too many more interesting topics to discuss. And soon I will have lots to talk about!

“Dream what you want to dream. Go where you want to go. Be what you want to be. Because you have only one life and one chance to do all the things you want to do.”

Share your thoughts

